Leave a comment

The Beast List

Call it what you will, but it’s basically a goal list.  What you hope to accomplish in the near future or maybe even in the not so near future.  A “Beast” list is taking it to another level.  It’s still a goal list, but it’s more ambitious than that.  It needs to include some items that will be hard and that may even lead to failure.  It also needs to push your self out of your comfort zone a little.

By all means, include all your goals little and large, but make sure your large items are almost inconceivably large.  I say “almost” because it does have to be in the realm of reality (even if it is just short of absurd).  My own list is still in the beginning stages, and this list is an ever evolving, ever changing list.  You add to it once you complete something, or maybe you failed at something and realized it wasn’t the right goal for you.  You can see that I have a few items that are common, and ones that are very doable.  But to illustrate what I mean by “almost inconceivable”, I have “become an American Gladiator” as one of my list items.  Absurd right?  Well is it?  Let’s face it, it’s just plain fun to imagine myself being a gladiator.  However, it is somewhat possible, with hard work and dedication I could definitely become fit enough to be on the show (that’s considering they are even still on tv).  And even if I don’t get on the show, I would have still accomplished a lot.

The idea is to dream big, and even if you fail, that in itself is an accomplishment because you will have learned something in the process.

I want  you to make your own list.  Feel free to share it, or not.  But I want you to create this list with absolutely no self control.  Don’t hold back.  Put down everything you want to accomplish, big, small and everything in between.  Write even the embarrassing ones down (I told you about my gladiator dream so how bad can yours be?).  Spend some time on this, you can always edit it and take out what you won’t even consider working towards.

I want you to GO HARD OR GO HOME, because the truth is you are stronger than you think you are.  Once you realize that, you will be surprised what you can really achieve.

Leave a Reply

